The determination to award Argentina a penalty after striker Julian Alvarez collided with Croatian goalkeeper Dominik Livakovic has precipitated widespread debate amongst soccer pundits the world over.
La Albiceleste got an opportunity to open the scoring from the spot when Alvarez, who had made an ideal run between Croatia’s central pairing, was by means of on purpose with solely Livakovic in his approach.
Watch the world’s greatest footballers each week with beIN SPORTS on Kayo. LIVE protection from Bundesliga, Ligue 1, Serie A, Carabao Cup, EFL & SPFL. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >
Alvarez chipped his effort previous Livakovic however was despatched tumbling to the bottom due to the Croatian gloveman’s leg.
The ball was cleared away by Dejan Lovren to forestall the preliminary purpose, however the referee pointed to the spot and Livakovic was given a yellow card for his troubles.
Lionel Messi stepped as much as smash house the penalty with an inch-perfect strike into the highest proper nook.
However, not each analyst believed the referee made the appropriate name.
Messi stands tall as Croatia CRUMBLE | 01:04
Portugal coach gone after Ronaldo dust-up … and a well-known face may take over
Family reveals US journo’s reason behind dying at World Cup
England star’s viral Mbappe snub after brutal World Cup loss
Speaking on ITV’s broadcast, the trio of Roy Keane, Gary Neville and Ian Wright all took the identical stance.
Neville didn’t mince his phrases on what he considered the choice.
“This just isn’t a penalty,” Neville stated.
“What else can he do? He has to make that movement to try to save the ball, he vegetation his ft.
“If he’d carried on operating out and brought out Alvarez then honest sufficient, however he stops earlier than it and I don’t know if that’s a penalty.”
Wright added: “When you have a look at it, the centre ahead, he’s truly miskicked it to be trustworthy. If he hits it and it goes into the purpose, the goalkeeper can’t do something such as you say, he’s stopped.”
Keane stated: “Poor defending total to let him get a run in on purpose, however I agree with the lads, I don’t assume it’s a penalty, the place else are you presupposed to go?”
France prepared for Morocco firefight | 00:42
Speaking on SBS, Craig Foster and Mark Bosnich shared differing views on the referee’s essential name.
Bosnich stated: “For me, like I stated, I actually don’t assume that was … a penalty. I don’t actually know what you anticipate Livakovic to do.”
Foster replied: “He may come and save the shot however he has come to make a problem.”
Bosnich stated: “But if he stops, you possibly can’t simply soar out of the best way as a result of anyone is operating into it.”
Foster concluded: “But you don’t must be there, that’s the factor, it’s a foul on the participant. The ball has gone over, he can accumulate it on the opposite aspect, so he has to provide a foul.”
Former Ireland worldwide Kevin Kilbane additionally aired his opinion and took to Twitter to share his ideas.
“100% clear lower pen IMO,” Kilbane wrote.
“Not even a debate.”
Leave a Reply